CBT for Insomnia

If you suffer from poor sleep, you should know that Cognitive Behavioural Therapy for insomnia (CBT-i) has been demonstrated in randomized clinical trials to be the most effective treatment available for insomnia.

What is insomnia and when is it considered chronic?

The diagnostic criteria for insomnia are:

1. Trouble falling asleep, waking up too early in the morning or waking during the night and being unable to fall back to sleep.
2. The sleep difficulty occurs at least three nights per week.
3. The sleep disturbance causes clinically significant distress or impairment in social, occupational or other important areas of functioning.

Insomnia is considered chronic if symptoms persist for three months or more.

What is CBT-i (Cognitive Behavioural Therapy for insomnia)?

Most people suffering from insomnia have a very unpredictable sleep pattern. They live with the uncertainty of what the night will hold for them, compared with good sleepers, who can rely on their sleep being stable and satisfying. Cognitive Behavioral Therapy for insomnia, also known as ‘CBT-i’, can improve your sleep by helping you identify and change the thoughts and the behaviours that affect your ability to sleep well.

CBT-i teaches you how to:

1. Address the mental (or cognitive) factors associated with insomnia, such as a racing thoughts going through your head.
Replace behaviours that over time have reinforced poor sleep habits with new behaviours that restore good sleep.

2. Optimize your sleep routine to create a strong, positive connection between your bed and high quality, restful sleep. Falling asleep and staying asleep become more automatic and natural.

3. Improve your chances of achieving reliable sleep, night after night.

What are the benefits of CBT-i?

When you don’t take care of something as fundamental as sleep, it only makes sense that eventually there will be physical, mental and emotional consequences. If you are a poor sleeper, better sleep will help you manage the stresses and strains of daily living and be more organized and in control of your life.

Research has clearly shown that the direct benefits of successful CBT-i treatment include:

1. A significant decrease in the severity of insomnia symptoms. In other words, you fall asleep faster and stay asleep longer, with fewer awakenings during the night. Overall sleep quality and satisfaction with sleep are also significantly improved over the course of treatment.

2. Sleeping better can have a significant impact on daytime functioning, including improved mood, energy levels, motivation, as well as enhancing the ability to concentrate and to get things done.

3. You may not know that many clinical studies have demonstrated that successful CBT-i treatment can reduce the severity of symptoms of depression and anxiety, and can help reduce one’s reliance on hypnotics (sleeping pills) or other psychoactive drugs (including alcohol and cannabis) used for sleep.

Does CBT-i work?

CBT-i is an ‘evidence-based therapy’, meaning that it has been shown to be effective in controlled scientific clinical studies. Clinical research has long shown that CBT-i can teach people how to fall asleep faster, stay asleep and feel better during the day. During the last 25 years, thousands of insomnia sufferers have participated in large-scale, randomized controlled trials comparing the effectiveness of CBT-i to pharmacotherapy (prescription medication used to get to sleep), sleep hygiene information and placebo (no treatment). These trials have clearly demonstrated that CBT-i is the most effective treatment available for insomnia, and that 60%-70% of people, including those with severe chronic insomnia, obtain lasting benefit from the treatment.

Clinical research has also shown that poor sleepers generally would prefer a practical approach based on CBT-i compared with taking sleeping pills. In fact, the evidence shows that CBT-i helps most people achieve sustained long-term improvements in their sleep, whereas the effects of medication or other pharmacological sleep aids are mostly short-term. The results are so compelling and consistent, that major healthcare advisory bodies in Canada, US and Europe advocate CBT-i as the preferred treatment for adults suffering from insomnia. Click here for a list with links to some of the most recent advisory body recommendations for chronic insomnia in adults.

Who can treat insomnia using CBT-i?

In Canada, CBT-i should be delivered by a therapist who is provincially licensed to perform psychotherapy and who has received specific training on treating insomnia clients with CBT-i. This includes medical doctors, psychologists and, depending on the province, other practitioners such as social workers and psychotherapists. The therapy generally occurs in a clinic and takes place in weekly sessions over the course of 6 to 8 weeks. However, a significant barrier to treatment is that few therapists are trained in CBT-I, and those therapists who are trained often have limited availability. Furthermore, seeing a therapist in clinic often requires a significant amount of commuting at times of the day that may not be convenient, especially for someone with work and family responsibilities. Commuting may not even be an option for those who live outside of Canada’s big cities.

What makes HALEO’s CBT-i different?

HALEO’s mission is to make screening, diagnosis and treatment of sleep disorders more accessible. To do so, we are constantly working to improve access to treatment.

1. Increasing the number of therapists trained to practice CBT-i Finding a therapist trained in CBT-i who is available and operates close to where you work is a challenge for many people suffering from insomnia. Our clinical experts are training and coaching large numbers of experienced, professional therapists to practice CBT-i. To date we have trained over 20 therapists in Québec and Ontario, but our goal is to be able to provide our service in every Canadian province as soon as possible and without a waitlist.

2. Making therapy easier to access. Let’s face it, when you’ve been having trouble sleeping and you’re stressed and feeling constantly fatigued, it’s not easy to carve out an additional 1-2 hours every week to commute to a clinic. HALEO’s therapists deliver CBT-i entirely through live videoconference sessions on a digital platform. Our therapists can serve any client with access to high-speed internet and a web camera, no matter where they live within the province. Already we have successfully treated many clients with busy schedules or who live in remote areas.

3. Reducing the cost and length of treatment. We have worked to make the cost of treating insomnia more accessible. Generally, CBT-i lasts 6-8 weeks and costs up to $1200, depending on the number of sessions indicated and the hourly fees charged by the therapist. HALEO’s experts have developed a briefer version of the treatment with shorter weekly sessions, while maintaining the clinical effectiveness of in-person CBT-i. HALEO’s digital platform reduces therapist time spent on administration and reporting, which allows the therapist to focus her time entirely on helping you, the client.

Does HALEO’s telehealth version of CBT-i give the same results as in-clinic CBT-i?

In 2017, over 1500 employees from Desjardins, one of Canada’s largest financial institutions, participated in HALEO’s Healthy Sleep Program by completing a confidential online sleep disorder screening questionnaire. Employees who received a result that included a risk notification for insomnia were 4x more likely to be suffering from moderate to severe symptoms of a mood disorder. Many of those employees chose to connect with HALEO to treat their insomnia.

Of those employees who completed treatment, 89% saw a significant improvement in their sleep, as measured by the Insomnia Severity Index, a questionnaire commonly used in clinical practice to evaluate insomnia symptoms. In other words, nearly 9 of 10 clients who completed treatment went from severe insomnia to good sleeper, severe to moderate insomnia, or moderate insomnia to good sleeper.

For further information on the major clinical guidelines

Centre for Effective Practice and Ontario College of Family Physicians
“CBT-i is recommended as the initial treatment for chronic insomnia.”
Read more

TOP (Towards Optimized Practice) Clinical Guidelines, College of Physicians and Surgeons, Alberta
“CBT-i is the cornerstone of treatment for insomnia.”
Read more

American College of Physicians
”Cognitive behavioral therapy for insomnia (CBT-i) should be the first-line treatment for adults with chronic insomnia”
Read more

American Academy of Sleep Medicine
“Psychological and behavioral interventions are effective and recommended in the treatment of chronic primary and comorbid (secondary) insomnia.”
Read more

European Sleep Research Society
“Cognitive behavioural therapy for insomnia is recommended as the first-line treatment for chronic insomnia in adults of any age (strong recommendation, high-quality evidence).”
Read more

Thérapie Cognitivo-Comportementale de l’insomnie (TCC-i)

Si vous souffrez d’insomnie, il a été démontré dans de nombreuses études cliniques que la Thérapie Cognitivo-Comportementale de l’insomnie (TCC-i) s’avère le traitement le plus efficace.

Qu’est-ce que l’insomnie et quand est-t-elle considérée chronique?

Les critères cliniques de l’insomnie chronique sont:

1. Difficultés d’endormissement, difficulté de maintien du sommeil (éveils fréquents et/ou prolongés), réveil matinal précoce assorti d’une incapacité à se rendormir
2. La perturbation du sommeil est à l’origine d’une détresse marquée ou d’une altération du fonctionnement dans les domaines social, professionnel, éducatif, scolaire ou dans d’autres domaines importants
3. Les difficultés de sommeil surviennent au moins 3 nuits par semaine.

L’insomnie devient chronique lorsque les troubles du sommeil et les symptômes diurnes associée sont présents depuis plus de trois mois

Qu’est-ce que la TCC-i (Thérapie Cognitivo-Comportementale de l’insomnie)?

Les bons dormeurs peuvent compter sur un sommeil stable et satisfaisant alors que la majorité des gens qui souffrent d’insomnie vivent dans l’incertitude et le manque de contrôle par rapport à leur sommeil et ce nuit après nuit. La Thérapie Cognitivo-Comportementale de l’insomnie (TCC-i), vous permet d’améliorer votre sommeil en vous aidant à identifier et changer les comportements qui affectent votre capacité à bien dormir.

TCC-i vous apprends comment :

1. Comprendre les mécanismes du sommeil et d’en reprendre le contrôle
2. Remplacer les comportements qui avec le temps, ont renforcés les mauvaises habitudes de sommeil par de nouveaux comportements qui restaurent le sommeil.
3. Optimiser votre routine du sommeil pour recréer une connection forte et positive entre votre lit et un sommeil de bonne qualité.
4. Identifier et corriger les pensées dysfonctionnelles en rapport au sommeil
5. Mieux gérer le stress dans votre vie

Quels sont les bénéfices de la TCC-i?

Le sommeil représente ⅓ de notre vie. Ne pas prendre soin de cet aspect fondamental entraîne des conséquences physiques, mentales et émotionnelles. Un meilleur sommeil vous aidera à mieux gérer les stress de la vie quotidienne et à être plus productif dans toutes les sphères de vos activités.

Selon les recherches, un traitement TCC-i réussi apporte les bénéfices suivants:

1. Une baisse significative de la sévérité des symptômes de l’insomnie. Endormissement facile, moins de réveils durant la nuit. La satisfaction par rapport au sommeil et sa qualité générale sont aussi significativement améliorées .

2. Dormir mieux peut avoir un impact significatif sur votre fonctionnement quotidien, votre humeur, votre niveau d’énergie, de motivation et de bien-être général.

3. Plusieurs études cliniques ont démontré qu’un traitement TCC-i réussi peut réduire la sévérité des symptômes de dépression et d’anxiété et peut aider à réduire le besoin d’aide médicamenteuse (somnifères) ou autres substances psychoactives (incluant l’alcool et le cannabis) utilisées pour dormir.

Est-ce que la TCC-i fonctionne?

La science, les recherches cliniques ont démontré depuis longtemps que la TCC-i peut apprendre aux gens comment s’endormir plus vite, rester endormi et se sentir mieux durant la journée. Au cours des 25 dernières années, des milliers de gens souffrant d’insomnie ont participé à des études contrôlées, à grande échelle, comparant l’efficacité de TCC-i à la pharmacothérapie (médicaments prescrits pour dormir), l’information sur l’hygiène du sommeil et le placebo (pas de traitement). Ces essais ont clairement démontrés que la TCC-i est le traitement le plus efficace de l’insomnie et que, 60%-70% des gens, incluant ceux présentant de l’insomnie chronique sévère, obtiennent des améliorations durables avec cette approche.

Les recherches cliniques ont également démontré que les mauvais dormeurs préfèrent généralement l’approche pratique basée sur TCC-i que de prendre des somnifères. En effet, il est démontré que la TCC-i aide la majorité des gens à atteindre des améliorations maintenues à long terme, tandis que les bénéfices de la médication et autres aides pharmaceutiques sont majoritairement à court terme. Les résultats sont tellement performants et constants, que la majorité des conseillers en santé au Canada, aux États-Unis et Europe recommandent la TCC-i comme le traitement de première intention, à privilégier pour les adultes souffrant d’insomnie. Cliquez ici pour une liste de liens donnant accès à certaines des plus récentes recommandations de conseillers concernant l’insomnie chronique chez les adultes.

Qui peut offrir des traitements de TCC-i ?

Au Canada, la TCC-i ne peut être offerte que par un thérapeute qui possède un permis provincial lui permettant de pratiquer la psychothérapie et qui a reçu une formation spécifique en sommeil pour traiter les clients souffrant d’insomnie par TCC-i. Cela inclus les médecins, les psychologues et, selon la province, d’autres praticiens comme les travailleurs sociaux et les psychothérapeutes. La thérapie se déroule généralement en clinique dans un cadre de sessions hebdomadaire réparties sur une durée de 6 à 8 semaines. Toutefois, un obstacle significatif au traitement est qu’il y a très peu de thérapeutes qui ont une formation en TCC-i, et qu’ils ont souvent des disponibilités limitées. Voir un thérapeute en clinique s’avère parfois difficile en terme de déplacement et d’organisation du travail professionnel ou familial. Il existe très peu de ressources spécialisées en TCC-i hors des grandes villes du Canada et donc pas d’accessibilité pour les gens en régions éloignées.

Qu’est-ce qui rend la TCC-i d’HALEO différente?

Notre mission chez HALEO est d’améliorer la santé en facilitant l’accès au dépistage et à la prise en charge des troubles du sommeil. Pour ce faire, nous travaillons constamment à améliorer l’accès au soins:

1. Former plus de thérapeutes en Thérapie Cognitivo-Comportementale de l’insomnie (TCC-i). Trouver un thérapeute qui a la formation pour la TCC-i, qui est disponible et qui pratique près de votre lieu de travail est un défi pour beaucoup de gens souffrant d’insomnie. Nos experts cliniques sont spécialisés et forment des grandes quantités de thérapeutes habilités à pratiquer la TCC-i. À ce jour, nous avons formés plus de 20 thérapeutes au Québec et en Ontario, mais notre objectif est d’être capable d’offrir notre service dans chaque province Canadienne, en répondant le plus rapidement à la demande, sans liste d’attente.

2. Faciliter l’accès à la clinique et au thérapeute. Quand vous avez des troubles de sommeil, que vous êtes stressé et que vous vous sentez constamment fatigué, ce n’est pas facile d’ajouter 1 à 2 heures par semaine pour vous rendre à une clinique spécialisée. Les thérapeutes d’HALEO offrent la TCC-i via des sessions de vidéoconférence en direct sur notre plateforme. Nous avons déjà traités avec succès beaucoup de clients qui avaient des horaires trop chargés ou habitaient trop loin pour se déplacer vers des cliniques.

3. Réduire le coût et la durée du traitement. Nous avons travaillé afin de rendre le coût du traitement de l’insomnie accessible. Généralement, une TCC-i dure de 6 à 8 semaines et coûte jusqu’à 1200$, selon le nombre de sessions recommandé et les taux horaires des thérapeutes. Les experts d’HALEO ont développés une version plus brève du traitement avec des sessions hebdomadaires plus courtes tout en maintenant l’efficacité clinique de la TCC-i en personne. La plateforme numérique digitale d’HALEO réduit le temps du thérapeute passé en administration et rapports, ce qui permet au thérapeute de consacrer complètement son temps à vous aider.

Est-ce que la version de télésanté TCC-i d’HALEO donne les mêmes résultats que la version en clinique de TCC-i?

En 2017, plus de 1500 employés de chez Desjardins, une des plus grandes institutions financières du Canada, ont participés au programme Santé Sommeil d’HALEO en complétant un questionnaire en ligne de dépistage confidentiel des troubles du sommeil. Les employés qui ont reçus des résultats indiquant des risques d’insomnier l’insomnie étaient également 4 fois plus susceptibles de souffrir de troubles d’humeur modérés à sévères. Beaucoup de ces employés ont HALEO pour traiter leur insomnie.

89% des employés qui ont complété le traitement ont vu une importante amélioration de leur sommeil, mesuré selon l’Index de la Sévérité de l’Insomnie, un questionnaire validé, communément utilisé en pratique clinique pour évaluer les symptômes de l’insomnie. En d’autres mots, près de 9 sur 10 des clients qui ont complété le traitement sont passés d’insomnie sévère à bon dormeur, de sévère à modéré, ou d’insomnie modérée à bon dormeur.

Pour des informations supplémentaires sur les lignes directrices des cliniques reconnues comme spécialisées

Centre for Effective Practice and Ontario College of Family Physicians
“CBT-I is recommended as the initial treatment for chronic insomnia.”
Read more

TOP (Towards Optimized Practice) Clinical Guidelines, College of Physicians and Surgeons, Alberta
“CBT-I is the cornerstone of treatment for insomnia.”
Read more

American College of Physicians
”Cognitive behavioral therapy for insomnia (CBT-I) should be the first-line treatment for adults with chronic insomnia”
Read more

American Academy of Sleep Medicine
“Psychological and behavioral interventions are effective and recommended in the treatment of chronic primary and comorbid (secondary) insomnia.”
Read more

European Sleep Research Society
“Cognitive behavioural therapy for insomnia is recommended as the first-line treatment for chronic insomnia in adults of any age (strong recommendation, high-quality evidence).”
Read more